Professional Learning at the BCPVPA involves myriad initiatives and objectives to build capacity and leadership for principals and vice-principals. The combined work of the BCPVPA staff, its Professional Development representatives and committee members determine the most effective ways to deliver these initiatives. Recent programs include:


Short Course
July 4 to 8
at UBC

Leading Learning:
Open Mind, Open Heart

Gain the knowledge, understanding, and connections you need to enhance your school leadership journey.

Developed in partnership with UBC, Short Course is an intensive, one-week (44 scheduled contact hours) program designed to provide new school leaders with an opportunity to hone the skills necessary for success in their new roles.

Short Course has been a part of this province’s educational leadership development for 40 years. The course work contains a blend of research and practical application that creates an essential understanding of what principals and vice-principals need to know and how to accomplish it.

Each year experienced principals and superintendents work together to plan Short Course, deliver the sessions, and facilitate the small group learning. Participants are immersed in the realities of school administration and given the knowledge, skills, and strategies needed in their new roles. Throughout the week participants have daily opportunity to reflect on their learning and set action plans for the year ahead.

The program is based on the Leadership Standards for Principals & Vice-Principals in British Columbia. Each day of the program focuses on one of the four Domains of the Standards (Moral Stewardship, Relational Leadership, Instructional Leadership, and Organizational Leadership). The concluding session, on Saturday, revolves around our BC education partners.

Moral Stewardship • Instructional Leadership • Relational Leadership
Organizational Leadership • Inspiration to Lead

Registration http://bit.ly/BCPVPAShortCourse17


Super Vision for Learning (levels 1 and 2) 2017-18 registration

S4L 1:
Registration:
http://bit.ly/BCPVPAS4LOne

S4L 2:
Registration: http://bit.ly/BCPVPAS4LTwo

Super Vision for Learning Level 1 2017-2018 dates

Sooke:

  • Friday, August 25/Saturday, August 26
  • Friday January 12/Saturday, January 13
  • Friday, May 4

Prince George:

  • Friday, September 15/Saturday, September 16
  • Monday, November 20
  • Friday, February 16
  • Monday, April 30

Kelowna:

  • Friday, September 15/Saturday, September 16
  • Monday, November 20
  • Friday, February 16
  • Monday, April 30

Metro:

  • Monday, September 25
  • Friday, October 27
  • Tuesday, January 16
  • Friday, March 9
  • Tuesday, May 8

Super Vision for Learning, Level 2 2017/18 dates

Merritt:

  • Sunday, November 5
  • Monday, November 6
  • Thursday, January 18
  • Thursday, March 1
  • Wednesday, April 25

Metro

  • Monday, October 30
  • Friday, November 24
  • Wednesday, January 24
  • Monday, March 5
  • Wednesday, May 2

 


The BCPVPA Aboriginal Advisory Committee: The BCPVPA Aboriginal Advisory Committee presented to professional learning representatives on a number of issues, including: